Breaking: Oyo PDP leaders endorse Olafeso as Southwest Chairman

January 20, 2021

1.7 min readCategories: News

Some notable members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Oyo State on Tuesday, through a closed-door meeting held at Alhaji Nureni Akanbi’s residence, endorsed Dr Eddy Olafeso as the Southwest Chairman of the party.

The party leaders, who met basically to strategise on the forthcoming South West Congress of the party maintained their ground by adopting Eddy Olafeso as their sole candidate for the position of the Chairman of the zone.

The decision of the party stalwarts reflected in a communique issued after the meeting.

The communique indicated that leaders of the party resolved to unify all aggrieved members and intensify effort in their preparation for the forthcoming southwest congress slated for this year.

According to the communique, the leaders also unanimously agreed not to nominate nor sponsor any chairmanship candidate from Oyo State but to honour the agreement made with Southwest leaders of the party in the build-up to the Ondo State governorship election.

The communique signed by all the leaders reads in part; “We came here to strategize ahead of the southwest forthcoming congress. We must come together and sharpen our tools ahead of the congress. we deliberated on a lot of issues and we reached a positive conclusion in all we discussed.

“It is no longer news that no chairmanship candidate coming from Oyo state, there is an agreement made that we are going to return the Eddy Olafeso exco and every leader from all the state still stand on the agreement. So, Oyo State can’t be left out and we don’t want anybody to use his or her selfish interest to cause dispute in our great party.

“We are still going to hold more meetings before the congress, but the issue of chairmanship for the congress is settled, Oyo state is supporting the effort to return Eddy Olafeso at the coming congress.”

Some of the party leaders that attended the meeting included: Chief Nureeni Akanbi, Engr. Femi Babalola, Alh. Bisi Olopoebiyan, Aranse Basiru, Dele Adigun, Baba Sunday Alabi, Alhaji Azeez Ajinowo, Malam Yusuf, Alh. Bola Akinyemi and host of others.

download the starnews app

About the Author: Starnews NG

Leave A Comment

Tinubu promises new minimum wage to improve welfare of Nigerians

Oil theft: Sowore lambasts Tinubu, Buhari, Osinbajo, service chiefs

BREAKING: Tinubu Releases New Appointments

BREAKING: Police Seal Off Ondo Assembly Complex

‘Fast and Pray For Akeredolu’, State Director Urges Ondo Residents

EFCC quizzes Fayemi over alleged N4bn fraud, money laundering

Recent Tweets