Super Eagle: 40 man Squad listed for AFCON

December 23, 2021

1.7 min readCategories: Starnews Sport

The tentative Super Eagles squad for the Africa Cup of Nations, which was submitted to the Confederation Confederation Of African Football (CAF) by former Nigeria Men’s Football Team coach Gernot Rohr before his dismissal, has been leaked.

According to Owngoal Nigeria, Rohr submitted 37 names to CAF instead of 40 for the Africa Cup of Nations.

“We put our list together of 37 players before (November 16). The job has been done until the letter last Friday (December 10)”…

The names submitted by the coach have been disclosed by sources close to the Franco-German, and three fresh players have been invited. Ademola Lookman of Leicester City and Ovie Ejaria of Reading, who just switched allegiances, are among the players, and so is Nigeria’s 2019 U17 standout Akinkunmi Amoo, who plays for Swedish side Hammarby was also called up for the first time..

Red hot Dennis Emmanuel of Watford FC also got an invitation after some time out of the team.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands),John Noble (Enyimba FC, Nigeria)


Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy)
Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany)
Calvin Bassey (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland)Valentine Ozornwafor (Sporting Charleroi, Belgium); Tyronne Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Adekunle Adeleye (Enyimba FC, Nigeria)


Oghenekaro Etebo (Reading FC,England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland)Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England);Innocent Bonke (Malmo FF, Sweden);
Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)


Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Kalu (FC Bordeaux, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium);
Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Akinkunmi Amoo (Hammarby FC, Sweden); Taiwo Awonyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Samuel Chukwueze (Villareal CF, Spain); Odion Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia).

download the starnews app

About the Author: Starnews NG


  1. Adeniyi Salau December 24, 2021 at 1:10 pm - Reply

    Nice one. Go for Gold guys.

  2. Nwogu Fortune December 25, 2021 at 3:08 pm - Reply

    No Victor Moses?

    • cehnigeria December 30, 2021 at 2:28 pm - Reply

      Victor has retired from the National Team.

Leave A Comment

BREAKING: House of Reps Passes 2024 Appropriation Bill for Second Reading

Super Eagles Drop In Latest FIFA Ranking

Don’t Destroy Varsity Education With Your Policies, Don Warns Tinubu

BREAKING: Tinubu Confirms Adepoju As Substantive Immigration Boss

Recent Tweets