10th NASS Leadership: Tension as APC NWC throws contest open

Barring any last-minute change, the National Working Committee, NWC, of the All Progressives Congress, APC, will declare a free contest for principal officers of the 10th National Assembly. The APC had zoned the Senate presidency to the South-South and the speaker of the House of Representatives to the North-West. It announced Senator Godswill Akpabio, as its consensus candidate for Senate presidency and Senator Jibrin Barau, as the next Deputy Senate President in the 10th Assembly. The APC zoning, however, elicited angry reactions from lawmakers-elect who had declared their intention to contest. APC NWC recommends a free contest Multiple sources told

Go to Top